Episode 95: October Is Summer In Tennessee

October 13, 2014 at 9:57 pm 1 comment

Thanks for tuning in to episode 95 of Just One More Row! Thanks so much for your kind words on my first solo episode last time. I hope you’ll continue to tune in!

Brittany update:
The baby is doing great, growing like a weed, and Brittany is adjusting really well. I go to see them on Wednesday of this week! (which is why I’m recording early)

FOs:
Moorish Hat and Mitten by Emily Estrada

On The Needles/Bobbins:
March Hare test knit (hat and mitts; and Em’s new username is KnitFastDieCozy, which I forgot to mention! Sorry!), ALL THE CHRISTMAS COLORS cowl, Viajante, Chris’s Birthday Socks (which may now become his Christmas socks), Mama Vertebrae, BFL pencil roving from HilltopCloud on the Hansen started at spinning guild and may end up being a long term project… there’s a lot of it!

New In The Queue:
Juxtaposed by Sarah Shoo (free Ravelry download), Oki Doki by Astrid Schramm (3EUR Ravelry download), Heaven and Space by Martina Behm (3.60EUR Ravelry download) 

Out And About:
Fiber in the Boro in Murfreesboro TN on November 1 at the Lane Agricultural Park, podcaster meetup at 2pmCT (all are welcome!)

What Do You Want To Hear About:
From KarenCreates: suggestions about picking out a first wheel? Episode 31 Wheels Loved & Lost, my history with wheels and advice (eBags Crew Cooler II)
From kabang: suggestions for patterns for handspun? my queue’s handspun tag. Also, do I spin for specific projects? Yes, on occasion.
From KuntzKnit: how to measure the yardage for handspun? niddy noddy or skeinwinder, wash before measuring final yardage, DO NOT WEIGHT THE YARN.
From cperrine: taking care of hand dyed yarn? my opinion on washing, why certain yarns fade, etc. Also… I didn’t realize this ‘controversy’ about hand dyed yarns that bleed was going on in other places on Ravelry when I chose to respond to the question that was asked in the WDYWTHA thread, and what I said wasn’t directed at anyone or meant to claim a side. I just presented my response as I see it, based on my own 8+ years as an indie dyer and 9+ years as a knitter of hand dyed yarns.

Announcements:

  • the SillyFru shop update: $225 got donated to her medical fund thanks to YOU!
  • one more shop update, next Tuesday 10/21 at 4pmET, and then no more updates til 11/11 so that I can focus on FITB and resting afterward.
  • new patterns coming out for UYC’s booth at FITB! Nell Ziroli’s Hexes & Ohs, Emily Estrada’s Moorish Arches, Emma Galati’s March Hare. Kits will be available in the shop after FITB is over, and the patterns will be available on Ravelry for purchase after the show as well!
Entry filed under: knitting, podcast, shownotes, spinning.

Special Announcement Episode: Just One More Caffeinated Row KAL Episode 96: The Snowball Melted! :(

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mary  |  October 23, 2014 at 7:22 pm

    This was such a great episode! I’m a relatively new listener, so I don’t know what your normal 2-person format sounds like, but I really learned a lot from the reader questions. I have a spinning wheel, but I don’t spin a lot, and I’ve often wondered if I just have the wrong wheel. Your comments have inspired me to trust that instinct and at least investigate if a different wheel might make a difference.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Want to drop us a line? Click here!

Click here and add yourself to our email subscription list to get notified when we post a new episode!

Join 249 other followers

Support Our Show!

You aren't obligated to donate, but any donation will be put to good use paying for our hosting fees, postage for prizes, etc.!

Recent Posts


